Published date: 29 June 2021

It’s nearly two months since the amended Part 61 Private Licences and Ratings came into effect. The changes meant pilot licence holders could operate an aircraft on a Waka Kotahi New Zealand Transport Agency DL9 medical certificate.

The DL9 medical certificate is valid for five years – or two years, if you’re 40 or older.

If you use a DL9, your flying privileges are fewer than if you hold a current Part 67 class 1 or 2 medical certificate. These are described in the Comparison of PPL privileges for DL9 and class 2 medicals table. This document also refers you to the appropriate Civil Aviation Rules.

Other useful information is at these links on the CAA pilot licensing web page:

Page 1. Student pilots – The CAA doesn’t require a copy of your current DL9 while you’re continuing your flight training.

Page 2. Applying for your PPL – include only pages 1 and 4 of the current DL9.

Page 3. Current PPL, CPL and ATPL holders – send only pages 1 and 4 of the newly issued DL9 to the CAA, and within seven days of it being signed by your health practitioner.

  • Advisory circulars

AC61-1 - Pilot licences and ratings - General
AC61-2 - Pilot licences and ratings - Student pilots
AC61-3 - Pilot licences and ratings - Private pilot licence