New Zealand is a contracting state of the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) and is signatory to Annex 17 of the Chicago Convention 1944 - Standards & Recommended Practices - Security - Safeguarding Civil Aviation Against Acts of Unlawful Interference and is also a party to the Tokyo, Hague, and Montreal Conventions.

In New Zealand the CAA is the “appropriate authority” that regulates the standards and recommended practices contained in the ICAO annex’s including Annex 17. The responsibility for Annex 17 is implemented by the Security Regulation Unit of the CAA.

The terms and provisions of these conventions are given legal effect in New Zealand by the following legislation:

Civil Aviation Act 1990

Aviation Crimes Act 1972

Civil Aviation (Offences) Regulations 2006

Civil Aviation Rule Parts 1, 12, 19, 91, 108, 119, 121, 129, 135, 139, 140, 141, 171, and 172.

See relevant rules and advisory circulars.

Other legislation which assists in the implementation and enforcement of the National Civil Aviation Security Programme includes:

  • Crimes Act 1961
  • Trespass Act 1980
  • Bill of Rights Act
  • Charges Regulations

National Aviation Security Programme

The National Aviation Security Programme (NASP) sets out policy for the implementation of aviation security in New Zealand.

The main purpose of this programme is to protect the security, regularity and efficiency of aircraft and international and domestic airports by developing and implementing necessary and appropriate security procedures. This must happen in compliance with the provisions of the New Zealand National Aviation Security Programme for safeguarding against acts of unlawful interference on persons, terminals, air navigation installations, aircraft and equipment.

The NASP is designed to meet the requirements of ICAO Annex 17, Standard 3.1.1.